Report a safeguarding concern

Health & Social Care

Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care

Equivalent in size to 3 A Levels. 13 units of which 8 are mandatory and 5 are optional. This qualification is a 2-year full time study programme that looks in depth at the health and social care sector. The health and social care sector comprises of two sub sectors, health care and social care. Health care encompasses all hospital activities, medical nursing homes and GP services, for example. The social care sector includes residential nursing care, residential nursing facilities residential care facilities, domiciliary care and social work. Students are able to progress into working the sector through degree programmes in nursing, midwifery, social work, physiotherapy, occupational therapy and pharmacy, for example. There are more than 300 distinct career paths in this sector.

The content of this qualification has been developed in consultation with higher education to ensure it supports progression towards higher study. Employers and professional bodies have also been involved, in order to confirm that the content is also appropriate for those interested in working in the sector. In addition to the knowledge, understanding and skills that underpin study of the health and social care sector, this qualification gives students experience of the breadth and depth that will prepare them for further study in the sector. This includes the opportunity for students to choose a health studies pathway with options reflecting the progression opportunities in health care.

Everyone taking this qualification will study eight mandatory units:

? Human Lifespan Development

? Working in Health and Social Care

? Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care

? Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care

? Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs

? Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care

? Promoting Public Health

? Work experience in Health and Social Care.

Students are required to undertake a minimum of 100 hours work experience as part of the course, to develop a better understanding of the demands of the sector and for students to demonstrate their commitment and interest in the sector when applying for further study. Students then complete five option units from a chosen pathway.

Option units have a variety of choices:

? Sociological Perspectives

? Psychological Perspectives

? Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs

? Nutritional Health

? Caring for Individuals with Dementia

? Assessing Children’s Development Support Needs.

Option units from the health studies pathway include:

? Microbiology for Health Science

? Genetics

? Biochemistry for Health

? Health Psychology

? Psychological Disorders and their Care.

BTEC Nationals are assessed using a combination of internal assessments, which are set and marked by teachers, and external assessments which are set and marked by Pearson:

• mandatory units have a combination of internal and external assessments

• all optional units are internally assessed

Students are able to progress into work in the sector through degree programmes in nursing, midwifery, social work, physiotherapy, occupational therapy and pharmacy, being a few examples. This qualification is primarily designed to support progression to employment via higher education. It also supports students choosing to progress directly to employment as the transferable knowledge, understanding and skills will give successful students an advantage when applying for a range of entry level roles, industry training programmes and Higher Apprenticeships.