Information Technology

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Information Technology is intended as an Applied General qualification covering 1080 GLH and is equivalent in size to three A Levels.

It is designed to be offered to 16–19 learners who are interested in progressing to further study in higher education IT-related disciplines. The qualification gives learners a broad base of knowledge of the IT sector. The optional units enable learners to explore their own choice of areas for further study. Learners could also progress to employment in the IT sector.

The 7 mandatory as follows:

Unit 1 Information Technology Systems written exam

Unit 2 Creating Systems to Manage Information Set by Pearson and completed under supervised conditions.

Unit 3 Using Social Media in Business

Unit 4 Programming

Unit 9 IT Project Management

Unit 11 Cyber Security and Incident Management Task set and marked by Pearson completed under supervised conditions.

Unit 14 IT Service Delivery Task set and marked by Pearson completed under supervised conditions.

The other 6 will comprise of the following

Unit 6 Website Development

Unit 7 Mobile Apps Development

Unit 8 Computer Games Development

Unit 13 Software Testing

Unit 19 The Internet of Things

Unit 21 Business Process Modelling Tools

What could this qualification lead to? In addition to the IT sector-specific content outlined above, the requirements of the qualification enable learners to develop the transferable and higher-order skills that are highly regarded by higher education providers and employers. For example, the study of IT particularly encourages development of research and analysis skills, project management and prioritising, effective communications, the synthesis skills of adapting and integrating, and the evaluation skills of assessing, interpreting and validating. As this qualification is equivalent in size to three A Levels, it fully meets the requirements for progression to a wide range of degree programmes in IT and related areas. These include: • BSc in Business Information and Technology • BSc in Digital Technology Solutions • BSc (Hons) in Computer Games Technology • BSc (Hons) in Creative Technology • BSc (Hons) in Information Technology Management for Business • BSc in Computing Forensics • BSc in Computer Networks and Security.

How does the qualification provide employability skills? In the BTEC National units there are opportunities during the teaching and learning phase to give learners practice in developing employability skills. Where employability skills are referred to in this specification, we are generally referring to skills in the following three main categories: • cognitive and problem-solving skills: use critical thinking, approach non-routine problems applying expert and creative solutions, use systems and technology • intrapersonal skills: communicating, working collaboratively, negotiating and influencing, self-presentation • interpersonal skills: self-management, adaptability and resilience, self-monitoring and development. There are also specific requirements in some units for assessment of these skills where relevant, for example, where learners are required to undertake real or simulated activities.